How to convert .doc/.odt to .csv or Calc format

Discuss the word processor
eikelein

How to convert .doc/.odt to .csv or Calc format

Post by eikelein »

Hello;
I am a bloody beginner :oops: with OO running 2.3.1 on WinXP Home SP2 (fully up to date).
My searching in the forums and the Help system was fruitless so far. I am sure that I either overlook the obvious or others may have had the same question and I don't find the solution (my choice if search arguments often is poor, I'm not a native English speaker).

My "problem": I have quite a few (important) addresses of customers in M$ Word and/or .odt format. The files are Tab separated columns like Firstname, Lastname and so on. I easily can store the data as text files Tab separated or in the respective internal Table formats. For further processing like changing column sequence, sorting by different column(s) and so on I want to load the contents into OO Calc.

Any pointers to existing solutions, the Help system or the like would be greatly appreciated.

TIA
Hagar Delest

Re: How to convert .doc/.odt to .csv or Calc format

Post by Hagar Delest »

See that thread: [Solved] Opening a text file in Calc.

Thanks to add '[Solved]' in your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
LibreOffice 7.6.2.1 on Xubuntu 23.10 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
acknak

Post by acknak »

See that thread: [Solved] Opening a text file in Calc.
Oops: he came here from that thread ;-)

eikelein: You cannot, under any circumstances, open a .doc (MS Word) file in Calc.

If your data in the .doc file are indeed simply tab-separated text, just do this:
1) Open in Writer
2) Select all
3) Edit > Copy
4) File > New > Spreadsheet
5) Edit > Paste Special > Unformatted text

This will open the text import dialog window--select your separators, and OK.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
eikelein

Post by eikelein »

eikelein: You cannot, under any circumstances, open a .doc (MS Word) file in Calc.