Put borders around text

Discuss the word processor
allanfullertonnz

Put borders around text

Post by allanfullertonnz »

This is probably a dumb question, but I'm new to Open Office and I can't do something as simple as putting a border (or frame) around a piece of text. I like to type my headings for documents, then select the text I have written and put a border around it. But for the life of me I cannot find any way of doing this. It is very simple in MS Word, and I thought I'd found the toolbar that contains the icon in Open Office Writer, but it doesn't highlight itself meaning I cannot click on it. Can anyone help?
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
TheGurkha
Volunteer

Re: Put borders around text

Post by TheGurkha »

Hi and welcome to the forums.

To do it with direct formatting highlight the text, right-click it and select Paragraph... > Borders Tab.

(Actually the best way is to use Styles. For me, Styles are a major part of what makes OOo as flexible and powerful as it is. Styles do represent a bit of a learning curve, buit they are worth it.)

If this has answered your question please go to your first post and use the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can use the green tick icon at the same time if you like.
Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn, LibreOffice Version: 4.3.3.2
Gurkha Welfare Trust
rayroshi

Post by rayroshi »

Great answer: 'Go to Styles.' That's about like saying, "Use Openoffice."
Then what?
OpenOffice.org 4.1.2 Windows 10
RoryOF

Post by RoryOF »

A good introduction to using OpenOffice (and styles) is given at
Writer for students (several languages)
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
Hagar Delest

Post by Hagar Delest »

rayroshi wrote:Great answer: 'Go to Styles.' That's about like saying, "Use Openoffice."
Then what?
Then check the help files maybe?