[Solved] User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby Finnlisa » Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:37 pm

I am a total newbie trying to recreate about 20 Word documents as Open Office templates. I want to define about 12 fields for Client Name, Product Name, Project Name, etc. I also want the user to have to input the information for each field when she first opens the file. I've tried creating these fields under User Fields, but I keep getting unexpected results. Sometimes the fields also appear under Input Fields, and sometimes they don't. In one of my attempts, all 12 fields appear under Input Fields, and four of those also appear under User Fields. In another file, all 12 fields appear under Input Fields and none under User Fields, but when I open a document from the template, I am not prompted to fill in values for the fields. And sometimes I get additional field entries with _renamed added.

I've read the User's Guide chapter on fields, but it's just not helping. Can anyone help me out? What kind of field do I need to create, and where? Is there a good explanation of fields that you can direct me to?

Thanks!
Last edited by Finnlisa on Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
Finnlisa
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby Hagar Delest » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:35 pm

I agree, using fields is not that easy at first.

  • The first operation is to create the reference: go to the first place where the field has to be repeated (not to be asked). In the Field dialog, create your User field.
  • Now go to the first place where that field should appear and where it should ask the user to be filled in. Here, create your Input field and select the field you've created above.
That's all!

Thanks to add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.10 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28390
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby Finnlisa » Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:34 pm

That helped somewhat. So is the following correct? If I create User Fields, they will also appear under Input Fields. If I want to insert a field that asks for the input each time, I should insert an Input Field. If I want to insert a field that does not ask for the input each time but does update globally throughout the document when the value is changed, I should insert a User Field. Is that all correct?
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
Finnlisa
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby Hagar Delest » Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:39 pm

Yes. Note that in fact, it's not mandatory to insert the User field when you create it. Once you've given it a name and a value, just click the green check mark right of the value field. Then the name of the field created is available in the list and can be selected if you highlight Input field.
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.10 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28390
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Solved] User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby Splat » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:53 am

A useful guide by Hagar Delest.
Is there any way of using an Input list instead of Input field?
The text which I want repeating throughout the document wants to be from a drop-down list of options.
Might I have to divert from Fields to Forms and Databases? :cry:
Do you get wafers with it?

OpenOffice 4.00 with Winders 8.1 pro
Splat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:40 am

Re: [Solved] User fields? Input fields? Hopelessly confused

Postby ibelin123 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:26 pm

"Is there any way of using an Input list instead of Input field?
The text which I want repeating throughout the document wants to be from a drop-down list of options.
Might I have to divert from Fields to Forms and Databases?"

@splat did you ever figure out a solution to your problem?
OpenOffice 4.1.2 on Windows 7
ibelin123
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:10 pm


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests