Microsoft Word "shift F3"

Discuss the word processor

Microsoft Word "shift F3"

Postby trismegian » Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:22 am

Is there in Open office anything such as the "shift F3" function of microsoft word?

I found it very useful: it toggles in a tick the word(s) between small and capital letters.

does anything of the sort exist in Oo?
In alternative, how could you insert the function in Oo? With a macro? or...?

thanks
andrea
florence
italy
OOo 3.0.X on MS Windows Vista
User avatar
trismegian
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:06 am

Re: microsoft Word "shift F3"

Postby Marek » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:06 am

Search for "Title case" on the forum or try to google it. Someone (I guess it was The Gurka but I am not convinced so I won't bet on it) devised macro changing the case of the characters. You can easily assign this macro under Shift+F3 combination.
OOo 3.2.X on Ms Windows XP (Work) and Windows 7 (Home)
Marek
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Microsoft Word "shift F3"

Postby trismegian » Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:41 pm

thanks for the suggestion, I'll start searching in this direction.
a.
OOo 3.0.X on MS Windows Vista
User avatar
trismegian
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:06 am

Re: Microsoft Word "shift F3"

Postby giopo » Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:30 pm

In MS Word "Shift + F3" cycle from lower case -> Upper Case first letters only -> UPPER CASE -> lower case again. I used it a lot and I think it's an useful feature for many OO users.
Some years ago I found the document attached containing a macro that do the job (and more). I can't find new version of it for OO3. I think it's possible to "extract" a reduced macro that fill the need and add it to OO3. If someone succeed please post the result.

I think we could ask for it as new feature, added in future releases.
Attachments
biggestcasechange.zip
File with macro and istructions to load it in OO
(14.57 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
OOo 3.0.X on Mandriva + Windows XP
giopo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:57 pm

Re: Microsoft Word "shift F3"

Postby TheGurkha » Mon Feb 23, 2009 5:30 pm

There's a link in this thread to a macro solution: Newbie Question: How do I change the case of text?.

If this has answered your question please go to your first post and use the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can use the green tick icon at the same time if you like.
Ubuntu 13.04 Raring ringtail, LibO 4.0.2.2 (Build ID 400m0 (Build:2))
Gurkha Welfare Trust
User avatar
TheGurkha
Moderator
 
Posts: 6426
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:13 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests