[Solved] Unknown solid line

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby pauliw25 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:46 am

I am using OO3 on a machine that runs Vista Home edition SP1.

In a document I have be working on in Writer,somehow, between two paragraphs I have managed to create a solid black line that exends the full width of the page. The problem is - I don't know how I manage to create it - nor do I know how to get rid of it. I've tried selecting View to show Hidden Characters but didn't see anything that would help.

Any suggestions?
Last edited by pauliw25 on Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pauliw25
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:53 pm

Re: Unknown solid line

Postby acknak » Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:22 am

Before I explain how to get rid of it, you should understand how it happens.

In your Writer document, place the cursor on an empty paragraph. Type Hello, then Enter, then type three hyphens in a row, but NO ENTER yet. You should see this:
Hello
---

Now press Enter on the line of hyphens. Do you see what happened? Type Ctrl+Z/Ctrl+Y to see it again.

The hyphens are changed into a line underneath the "Hello" paragraph.

Writer does this as a quick way to add a horizontal line across the page. But Writer uses a small trick to make the line: it's actually part of the paragraph above the hyphens: the line is a border on the bottom edge of the paragraph. You can remove it when it happens by typing Ctrl+Z (undo); you can remove it later by putting the cursor on the paragraph and doing Format > Paragraph > Borders > Line arrangement: none (click the diagram with no borders), OK.

If you don't like this at all and you don't want it to happen again, go to Tools > AutoCorrect > Options > Replace dashes Apply borders: NO (unchecked).
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Solved - Re: Unknown solid line

Postby pauliw25 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:57 pm

Thanks acknak.

Your instructions worked beautifully.


:D
L.O 3.4.5 on Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 bit
User avatar
pauliw25
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:53 pm

Re: Unknown solid line

Postby AJB-work » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:52 pm

acknak wrote:Before I explain how to get rid of it, you should understand how it happens.

In your Writer document, place the cursor on an empty paragraph. Type Hello, then Enter, then type three hyphens in a row, but NO ENTER yet. You should see this:
Hello
---

Now press Enter on the line of hyphens. Do you see what happened? Type Ctrl+Z/Ctrl+Y to see it again.

The hyphens are changed into a line underneath the "Hello" paragraph.

Writer does this as a quick way to add a horizontal line across the page. But Writer uses a small trick to make the line: it's actually part of the paragraph above the hyphens: the line is a border on the bottom edge of the paragraph. You can remove it when it happens by typing Ctrl+Z (undo); you can remove it later by putting the cursor on the paragraph and doing Format > Paragraph > Borders > Line arrangement: none (click the diagram with no borders), OK.

If you don't like this at all and you don't want it to happen again, go to Tools > AutoCorrect > Options > Replace dashes: NO (unchecked).


I think the actual way to turn this on or off is to check (or uncheck for off) the Tools > AutoCorrect> Options > Apply Borders
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
User avatar
AJB-work
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Re: [Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby acknak » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:37 am

Ack! Sorry! You're exactly right. I thought "replace dashes" didn't seem right but I missed the "apply borders" option when I went to look for it.

Thanks for the correction--I fixed it up above also, in case anyone should come by later and read the thread.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby jimbir » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:15 pm

Thanks Acknak. :knock:
I'm new to this program and this was driving (actually a short walk) me crazy. I suspected how it happened but, I couldn't figure out how to get rid of it.
OOo 2.4.X on Ms Windows XP
jimbir
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:35 pm

Re:

Postby knalstaaf » Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:12 am

Unfortunately none of this works for OOo 3.2.1 on MacOSX 10.5.6. It would just move the line upward...
OOo 3.1.1 on Mac OSx 10.5.6
knalstaaf
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: [Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby RoryOF » Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:28 am

Can you upload a short sample file to the Forum? The upload tab is below the Submit button on the Post A Reply window (not Quick Reply window)
Last edited by RoryOF on Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.3 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 29863
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Re:

Postby Bill » Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:57 am

knalstaaf wrote:Unfortunately none of this works for OOo 3.2.1 on MacOSX 10.5.6. It would just move the line upward...

No, they don't "move", and yes, it does work. If you have two consecutive paragraphs with bottom borders set and also have the "merge with next paragraph" option enabled, then the first paragraph's border will not be shown until the border is removed from the second paragraph. You just haven't removed all of the borders from all of the paragraphs yet.
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7428
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: [Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby MargaretRobinson » Thu May 10, 2012 7:57 am

I have this problem as well, and none of these solutions are working for me.I'm using Open Office for Mac OSX 10.7.3. I've tried selecting the paragraph and removing the line arrangement, but it always reverts to using the line. I've tried selecting all the paragraphs and doing this, but it has no effect.
OpenOffice 3.3.0, operating on mac OSX 10.7.3
MargaretRobinson
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: [Solved] Unknown solid line

Postby jrkrideau » Thu May 10, 2012 1:45 pm

MargaretRobinson wrote:I have this problem as well, and none of these solutions are working for me.I'm using Open Office for Mac OSX 10.7.3. I've tried selecting the paragraph and removing the line arrangement, but it always reverts to using the line. I've tried selecting all the paragraphs and doing this, but it has no effect.


Your best bet would be to upload an example so forum members can have a look.
OpenOffice 4.1.6; Ubuntu 18.04
jrkrideau
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3715
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 22 guests