[Solved] How do I set the direction of input text?

Discuss the word processor
NatalieEGH

[Solved] How do I set the direction of input text?

Post by NatalieEGH »

I am studying Biblical Hebrew.

The text goes right to left (It goes "?gniod uoy era tahW" unlike most (all?) European languages (English, French, German, ...) that go left to right (so "What are you doing?")

This results in punctuation like the "?" being put at the beginning of a question. It is like "gniod uoy era tahW" instead of ""?gniod uoy era tahW"

I think the problem will be fixed if I can change the direction of the input. Is there a way to do this?
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Sun Nov 14, 2021 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 (AOO412m3(Build:9782) - Rev. 1709696) (2015-10-21 09:53:29 (Mi, 21 Okt 2015)
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit with all patches applicable through today 2016-01-11
Bill
Volunteer

Re: How do I set the direction of input text?

Post by Bill »

I found some instructions in Help by searching for Hebrew. Did you look there?
AOO 4.1.14 on Ubuntu MATE 22.04
NatalieEGH

Post by NatalieEGH »

I had not searched using Hebrew. I had been using "line direction", "direction", and "input direction" and found nothing.

Thank you for that much help.

The instructions SOMETIMES work. It does not work from what I can tell with a cut and paste. Also even if I do a Control A, selecting all the text and then do the Control Shift D it is very hit and miss as to whether when I type a ? at the end if it goes at the proper location or jumps to the start of the line.
I have also noticed the period and the double RIGHT quote (I think maybe a Hebrew punctuation, not standard on USA keyboard anyway) does the same thing.
I do not know if I am doing something wrong but the instructions seem very straight forward and I am sure I am following them.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 (AOO412m3(Build:9782) - Rev. 1709696) (2015-10-21 09:53:29 (Mi, 21 Okt 2015)