[Solved] Line Spacing Non-Paragraph

Discuss the word processor
rrwier

[Solved] Line Spacing Non-Paragraph

Post by rrwier »

Hello Forum,

New member here. 81 years and just a shadow ... be gentle, lol.

This post is a perfect example of my question/problem. To get the line spacing above, I hit "Enter" two times. This is exactly the result I want when using OpenOffice.
The spacing between this line and the one just above is the result of hitting "Enter" only once. This is exactly the result I want when using OpenOffice.

However, in OpenOffice, a single "Enter" gives me the paragraph spacing (double "Enter" hit here).

My search of the Forum shows a work-around (hold the spacebar down until the cursor drops down a single line). I have been using this work-around for several years. Is there a setting to force OpenOffice to do a single line dropdown when hitting the "Enter" key just once?

Thanks!
Robin Wier
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Aug 29, 2021 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved.
keme
Volunteer

Re: Line Spacing Non-Paragraph

Post by keme »

To insert a simple line break within a paragraph, hold down shift key when you press return. Note that this makes the new line belonging to the same paragraph as the previous. Press just return to break to next paragraph.
Observe pitfalls:
  • Inserting two line breaks does not constitute a paragraph break.
  • There is a limit to the paragraph length writer will allow.
...or...

Edit the text body paragraph style to set zero spacing above/below. You will then insert an empty paragraph every time you press return twice. This can make a mess in conjunction with other formatting/styling (e.g. bullet lists, headings).