Need help with Open Office 4.1.7 ASCII Filter Options

Discuss the word processor
gweekley05

Need help with Open Office 4.1.7 ASCII Filter Options

Post by gweekley05 »

I need help with 2 urgent issues, please. I am a bit of a novice at this also. Last week Thursday, when I would open and then save my open office documents,
they got corrupted somehow. I started getting a pop up ASC11 Filter Options. Now, I have 4 documents this effected, and when I try to open them, and click OK for this pop up, the documents are simply a series of #s, thousands of them. How do I retrieve my docs, I need them badly. 2nd item, about 2 weeks ago my computer did one of those spontaneous reboots, and I had a open office document I was in the process of creating, but had not saved it yet. Now it is gone. Is there any way to retrieve this one document?
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed subject, was: "… ASC11 …"
Windows 10, Open Office 4.1.7
RoryOF

Re: Need help with Open Office 4.1.7 ASC11 Filter Options

Post by RoryOF »

Previous experience tells that your file(s) will be utterly corrupt. Try the methods in this post, as soon as possible, in the hope of recovering part or all of it.

The damage is possibly due to over-hasty power-off of computer or closure of laptop lid, before the file housekeeping has been written to disk, or to computer or program crash. Do not let your computer sleep/hibernate with a document open. When you have formally closed down the computer, wait five or ten seconds before pulling the power lead or closing the laptop lid, to allow the internal buffers of the hard drive flush to disk

As soon as possible try the methods in this tutorial
See [Tutorial] How to find and un-delete AOO temporary files for detailed instructions on how to

a) use Previous Versions (W7 and later) to recover previous versions of the file (is there something similar on MacOS and Linux?);