[Solved] LateX - OpenOffice Writer

Discuss the word processor
training

[Solved] LateX - OpenOffice Writer

Post by training »

HI everyone

My situation
My name is Diego. I'm a physics student. I'd like to use open office writer to take notes and write equations using latex.
I have an issue regarding the use of Latex in Open Office Writer.
My operating system is Windows, last version. My version of Apache open office is 4.1.3

What I did
I downloaded MiKTeX for WIndows and two extensions for open office writer: tex maths & writer2latex.

The issue
I thought everything would be fine, but...
when I try to write equations in open office writer, the program replies with a pop-up, which explains that this operation is not possible because there is no "latex.exe" file on the computer.

This file actually isn't on the computer, even if I downloaded MiKTeX. What should I do?
Thank you very much
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Aug 30, 2020 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved
Open Office 4.1.3
Jan_J

Re: LateX - Open Office Writer

Post by Jan_J »

First, `downloaded` is not the same as `installed`. I hope you mean successful installations here.

Second, there are several ways for program communication in OS environments. The oldest, and probably the most robust, is PATH-based. PATH is environment variable responsible for directories being searched for executable that satisfies a command. I believe that Writer's extensions use this way, because it is a kind of `common denominator` for different operating systems, and Writer extensions need to be system-portable by default.