[Solved] Insert database columns with a macro in Writer

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Insert database columns with a macro in Writer

Postby AfTech54 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:14 pm

I'm trying to record a macro doing an insertion of a database search query into a .odt. I stop recording after hitting the OK in dialog "Insert database columns", the data is then inserted into the doc. When running the macro it stops with the dialog? If this require hands on programming of a macro I'll not going to use/continue with it.
Last edited by AfTech54 on Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ooo v4.1.2, Windows 10
AfTech54
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:08 am

Re: How to insert database columns with a macro into Write

Postby RoryOF » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:17 pm

OpenOffice macro recorder is rudimentary. Often one will need to hand edit and extend the recorded code. If OpenOffice doesn't meet your needs, look for something that does.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31209
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to insert database columns with a macro into Write

Postby Villeroy » Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:32 pm

Create a database report. A database report is a Writer table filled with query data.
Query right-click>Create Report...

A macro driven alternative: [Writer] Stand-Alone Database Reports
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28419
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to insert database columns with a macro into Write

Postby AfTech54 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:42 pm

OK both and thanks. The base report doesn't fullfill my needs.
I'll keep on doing it manually.
Ooo v4.1.2, Windows 10
AfTech54
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:08 am

Re: [Solved]How to insert database columns with a macro in W

Postby Villeroy » Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:05 pm

There is a report builder extension which might fullfill your needs.
I use Calc as a report engine. It fullfulls my needs.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28419
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests