[Solved] Page numbers change working in .DOC format

Discuss the word processor
Annie88

[Solved] Page numbers change working in .DOC format

Post by Annie88 »

Hello Fellow Office Users! I am new to the forum, I have been using Open Office Writer for many years (currently Office 4.1.7) and I have never experienced an issue that I couldn't resolve myself... until now. I am writing a document that has chapters, therefore each page needs to start on a certain page number. I have always used the method of right clicking on the document and going to Paragraph, Text Flow, ticking Insert and With Page Style and then altering the page number that way. It was up until yesterday that this method worked perfectly well. I don't know if I accidentally clicked on something, but now whenever I enter a page number - no matter what number it is and even if I save the document - the page number changes itself to the number 4! I have spent days trying to figure out what has gone wrong, I have tested it multiple times, I have uninstalled Office and reinstalled it, I have tried restarting my computer, I have Googled the issue, I have asked other people who have tried many methods - and I have gotten nowhere! I am at the end of my tether with it now - I really don't know what else to do! Please, if anybody has any advice or knows what the problem is - please help!

Thank you in advance :)
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Thu Feb 13, 2020 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]; Changed subject, was: OpenOffice Writer Page Numbers
Open Office 4.1.7 Windows 10
RoryOF

Re: Open Office Writer Page Numbers - Please Help!

Post by RoryOF »

Why does each Chapter need to start on a "certain" page number? Surely each chapter starts on the page after the end of the last chapter? Are you manually numbering the pages to match a manually written Table of Contents (ToC for short)?