I have several Word documents that show gray blocks (one or two spaces wide) within the document. These block can either be after words, sentences or paragraphs. The challenge, this that it seems to be inconsistent and every document shows the blocks.
They can be easily removed and when the document is reopen they don't show up (however, I really don't want to edit every document the shows the blocks). Is this a formating issue in the way the original document was saved or are they editing symbols and is there a fix/change that I can implement within Writer.
Thanks
Gray block in some Word Documents
Gray block in some Word Documents
Open Office 3.1.1; WinXP
Re: Gray block in some Word Documents
Can you see the blocks when you do File > Page Preview? Can you see them in a paper printout?
What happens if you try View > Field Shadings: OFF?
How big are these blocks?
What happens if you try View > Field Shadings: OFF?
How big are these blocks?
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
- Hagar Delest
- Moderator
- Posts: 33702
- Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
- Location: France
Re: Gray block in some Word Documents
I'm thinking about non breaking spaces. Do you get them when you paste the text from another application? I see that also very often, no workaround that I know (except switching the field shading off).
Thanks to add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
Thanks to add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
LibreOffice 25.2 on Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE 7 Gigi) and 25.2 portable on Windows 11.
Re: Gray block in some Word Documents
You can just ignore them, they don't show in print.
Do you have a specific need that means you have to edit them out?
Do you have a specific need that means you have to edit them out?
Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn, LibreOffice Version: 4.3.3.2
Gurkha Welfare Trust
Gurkha Welfare Trust
-
AuthorPaula
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:56 am
Re: Gray block in some Word Documents
I sometimes see them in non-.doc formats, too. Not often enough to remember what they were.
And yes, when editing a manuscript or any other document, the blocks are a distraction and PITA. I use OO.o while my editor uses Word. Every time I remove them all, they are back if she manipulates the document on her end.
I made myself a note and will try the turning off the field shadings next time I see them.
And yes, when editing a manuscript or any other document, the blocks are a distraction and PITA. I use OO.o while my editor uses Word. Every time I remove them all, they are back if she manipulates the document on her end.
I made myself a note and will try the turning off the field shadings next time I see them.
OpenOffice 4.1.0 on Windows 7 (64 bit)