Formatting results

Creating tables and queries
imagrump

Formatting results

Post by imagrump »

I have searched and cannot find a solution to my problem. I am new to databases so that is not unusual. I query my database for the last 2 years data on certain names (usually 60 to 100). All I want is the last 6 lines of data. The data returned will be from o to 35 or so lines. Is it possible to have just 6 lines for each entrant returned? Is it also possible to format an additional 2 lines (blank ) for each? Instead of 6 or fewer lines, there would be 6 or 8 for each name.
I realize that this probably involves learning some language for the query. First, I need to know if it can be done....if it can, then I need to find out how; if not; then I can quit looking.
THANKS
Open Office 4.1.1 on
Windows 7 Home
F3K Total
Volunteer

Re: formatting results

Post by F3K Total »

Hello,
if i got you right, yes it's possible. See Query in attached example.
But IMPOV, the two empty lines do not make sense, should be implemented in a report from VIEW1.

R
Attachments
SIX_LINES.odb
(71.33 KiB) Downloaded 205 times
  • MMove 1.0.6
  • Extension for easy, exact positioning of shapes, pictures, controls, frames ...
  • my current system
  • Windows 10 AOO, LOLinux Mint AOO, LO
imagrump

Re: Formatting results

Post by imagrump »

Thank you for the response...from what I can see, it appears to do what I want. The problem is that I do not know how to do this myself with my DB. I run a SELECT QUERY and get the results but have no way of limiting it to 6 rows per entrant to work with.
Can you provide a bit more info for someone just beginning databases? I am isolated and unable to learn other than by reading tutorials and other technical works. Sometimes, what is clear to you because of your background does not make sense to one hearing this for the first time without much background in the subject.
I learn fairly well but assistance is always welcome in something new and so different.