[Solved] Problems connecting multiple sales tables

Creating tables and queries
GardenElf

[Solved] Problems connecting multiple sales tables

Post by GardenElf »

Hi

i'm a lurking newbie with base and I'm not sure what to ask but i have following problem.
I get a automated CSV from external source that contains sales data. The file contains following fields:

Year, Month, day, week, storeid, storename, productname, salescode, price, sales, returns, totalAmount, totalQty, Salesperson
In the files each sale event is recorded separately despite it's made in the same store by the same person and on the same day. Due to the flux in sales different files have of course different amount of events recorded.

How should I link the files so that I can make a summary or pull out reports including specific information from a specific time frame?

There's a lot of advise on this forum about relationships and queries but I haven't found workable solution for this. Might just be that I'm not able to put the information into practise so if this is already solved could you be so kind and kick me into the right direction

Thanks, :)
GE
 Edit: Thanks for your tips. For now I think I'll stick with your suggestion about importing data to the table instead of linking. But in the long haul I think I'll have to familiarize the other learning curve about automating the data import. Would probably serve me in the future as well. I think there's a ton to learn here but better take baby steps and start with the suggested tutorials. Hopefully this is like riding a bike... first you learn and get some rash, but once you get going it's a smooth ride :lol: 
Last edited by GardenElf on Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.2
Win 7 Professional
MTP
Volunteer

Re: Problems connecting multiple sales tables

Post by MTP »