[Solved] Issues with linking two tables in Base

Creating tables and queries
MatthewSabre

[Solved] Issues with linking two tables in Base

Post by MatthewSabre »

First of all, Greetings!

Second of all, apologies....I did try to utilise the search bar before coming here but I could not find the answer I was looking for.
I am a relative newbie to databases in general as well as OO. As part of a work project I have to create a database, now through luck I appear to have made the majority of it work, but I am having one issue which I cannot seem to fix.

Below are my relationships.

http://postimg.org/image/thix37x8n/

Now through these current relationships I have been able to make a form that allows me to view:

1) What Barrels are linked to a Supplier
2) What Drawings are linked to a Barrel
3) What Orders are linked to a Supplier

I am trying to create a table/relationship so I can make a form that allows me to search for a Barrel and bring up all the orders it has featured in.
On advice from a friend of mine I have been using an Autonumber for all of my primary keys.

Thank you
Matthew
Last edited by MatthewSabre on Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Always looking for help!

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.1
Windows 7 64bit
rudolfo
Volunteer

Re: Issues with linking two tables in Base.

Post by rudolfo »

Normally you would need to join the Barrels table with the Orders Table. But this cannot be done cleanly because you don't know if you should join it to Barrel_ID1 or Barrel_ID3 or Barrel_ID12. You would need something like

Code: Select all

ON b.barrel_ID IN (o.Barrel_ID1, o.Barrel_ID2,...o.Barrel_ID12)
but this is not very efficient. Actually your table design does not follow the normalization rules. Repeated names like Barrel1, Barrel2, Barrel3, etc. as column names are always a sign that you need to split your single Order table into two tables:

.--------------.               .------------.
|    ORDERS    |               |    ITEMS   |