Multi-dimension tables

Creating tables and queries
Joakal

Multi-dimension tables

Post by Joakal »

Similar to Arrays, I would like to know if it's possible to find multi-dimensional tables. If so, how? I've read many database/base documents and my search results keep getting mixed up with OpenOffice Basic's arrays.

Something like a ToyBox DB where it's possible a user might pick the same toy more than once;

Code: Select all

ID: 43
Name: John
Pass: tkm2
Toy1: 1
Duration1: 243 [minutes]
Toy2: 5
Duration2: 191
With no limits to amount of toys.

ID: 44
Name: Sally
Pass: 4ni3
Toy1: 5
Duration1: 94
Toy2: Null
Duration2: Null
Second linked table Toys;

ID: 1
ToyName: Stormtrooper
ID: 5
ToyName: Mercedes
I'm new to OpenOffice Base (and to multi-dimensional tables) and not an efficient-crazy parent but looking to make my databases more efficient to develop.

Thanks for any help!
OOo 2.3.X on Ms Windows XP
squenson
Volunteer

Re: Multi-dimension tables

Post by squenson »

You should use three tables:
1) Kids -- Number (Primary Key), FirstName (indexed), Pass, etc.
2) Toys -- Number (Primary Key), Name, Description, etc.
3) Toys_by_Kids -- PKey (Primary Key, Integer with Autovalue Yes), Kid_Number (indexed), Toy_Number (indexed), Duration, Date, etc.

This way, you can have unlimited toys per kid.
 Edit: Following Kabing's comment, I added a Primary Key to the third table 
Last edited by squenson on Sun Jul 06, 2008 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LibreOffice 4.2.3.3. on Ubuntu 14.04
kabing
Volunteer

Post by kabing »

squenson wrote:<-- No need for Primary Key on this table
Really? won't that prevent the user from editing or adding data to the table--at least if they are using the built-in HSQL database engine?

kabing
NeoOffice (app store version) OpenOffice.org 4.1 and LibreOffice 4.3 on Mac OS X El Capitan
OpenOffice.org 4.1.2 on Windows 10 (Previously on Vista)
squenson
Volunteer

Post by squenson »