[Solved] Printing lables

Creating tables and queries

[Solved] Printing lables

Postby profoundnovice » Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:52 pm

I have created a mailing list in the Dadabase. Now want to print labels. Have followed instructions to print but having trouble with the Label tab in "print". I can pull up the name of the database but it does not seem to recognize any of the tables. It is just blank in the selection box. What am I doing wrong? Thanks.
Last edited by thomasjk on Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Mark thread [Solved] and add green checkmark
OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows 8
profoundnovice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Printing lables

Postby Nocton » Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:46 am

I do not understand where you have got to when you say ' but having trouble with the Label tab in "print"'.
You should:
- register your database
- from the database go to File/New -->Labels
- then select your database, the required table and the required fields
- format, etc. as required
- click on New Document to create your labels
- then File/Print when you data should show and be ready to print

Regards,

Nocton
OpenOffice 4.2.0 on Windows 10
Nocton
Volunteer
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:27 am
Location: UK

Re: Printing lables

Postby profoundnovice » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:54 pm

Thanks Nocton. My problem starts with your 3rd bullet point. I select my database but no tables appear in the table field. It is as though I haven't any tables, which I do. Have I missed a step?
OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows 8
profoundnovice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Printing lables

Postby F3K Total » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:32 am

Nocton wrote:- register your database
has to be done via Tools/Options/OpenOffice Base/Databases -> New ... -> Browse ...
see picture
Register.png

HTH R
    MMove 1.0.6
  • Extension for easy, exact positioning of shapes, pictures, controls, frames ...
    my current system
  • Windows 7 OOo, AOO, LOLinux Mint OOo, AOO, LO
F3K Total
Volunteer
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: Printing lables

Postby profoundnovice » Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:42 pm

It is registered.
OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows 8
profoundnovice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Printing lables

Postby thomasjk » Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:35 pm

Open a Writer document. Press F4. Do you see your database in the listing at the top?.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Tom K.
Windows 10 Home version 1709 16299.125
LibreOffice 5.3.7.2
thomasjk
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Printing lables

Postby profoundnovice » Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:45 am

Pressed F4. It is there.
OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows 8
profoundnovice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Printing lables

Postby Nocton » Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:28 am

So it is still a mystery why you cannot see your tables.

I am using OO 4.1. In Writer go to File/New -->Labels
Then the wizard should open and this is what you see.
LabelWizard.png

In this example I have selected the registered Base file MyLibrary
I have then selected a table - Locations
I have then chosen a field - Location
Please tell us what you see when you follow this procedure, which should be simple and straightforward. If still failing, please attach your database.

Regards,

Nocton
Last edited by Nocton on Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.2.0 on Windows 10
Nocton
Volunteer
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:27 am
Location: UK

Re: Printing lables

Postby thomasjk » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:55 pm

profoundnovice wrote:Pressed F4. It is there.


Do you see any queries or tables if you click on the plus sign to expand the view. Post a screen shot of the view you see. See https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... =74&t=8289 for instructions.
Tom K.
Windows 10 Home version 1709 16299.125
LibreOffice 5.3.7.2
thomasjk
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Printing lables

Postby profoundnovice » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:52 pm

I think I've got it now. I changed the name of my database from ChristmasCard to ChristmasCards and it works now. Don't know why but grateful none the less. Thanks to all for you time and patience.
OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows 8
profoundnovice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:43 pm

Printing lables from Table: [Solved] Printing lables

Postby halfaheart » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:53 pm

I have created a database, then a table. From File; New- Lables. From the Lables box, selected the database and the table, then selected the Fields I want printed then clicked New Document. All that I get is screen with the lables containing the Field Names that was selected. What have I missed?
halfaheart Windows 10 OpenOffice4.1.4
halfaheart
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: [Solved] Printing lables

Postby Nocton » Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:31 pm

May I suggest that you start a new thread as this a completely new topic. And perhaps you could explain what you wish to do in a bit more detail.
(By the way it is 'labels' - if English were more logical it would be lable, like table! Or Tabel like Label - more Germanic)
OpenOffice 4.2.0 on Windows 10
Nocton
Volunteer
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:27 am
Location: UK


Return to Tables & Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests