Edit answer tables and joining tables

Creating tables and queries
Lasse C

Edit answer tables and joining tables

Post by Lasse C »

Hi!

I'm new to databases. Maybe these questions should have been in separate threads, but in what I'm trying to do I think they are closely related, and discussing one problem in two threads could be very confusing.

I'm trying to build a database with several joined tables, and then create queries that present different parts of the total data in different ways. These queries collects data from more than one base table.

My first question is, is data in query answer tables ever, at any time, editable in OO Base?
This is a fundamental question of great importance that I've tried to find an answer to, but so far I haven't found a clear yes or no. I have found other people asking the same or similar questions in OpenOffice.org Forum, as have I, but yet not a clear answer to this fundamental question.

Every query I've built, even those based on single tables in databases with only one table, presents the data uneditable. I cannot change, delete or add new records in any of these answer tables.

My second question is, are there other ways to join tables than using queries?
I'm asking this because I cannot edit data through queries. So far it seems to me that it is necessary to create a query to join tables. I haven't a found way to just establish joins between tables without using a query.

So the problem looks like this. Since the data in the database I'm trying to build is split up into several tables I need to join the tables so that data is presented in an understandable user friendly way. The only way I have found to do this is by building queries that collect the data I'm intrested in in a specific query from several base tables.