Insert Sum of Two fields In The Same Record Into Third Field

Creating tables and queries
k.vallely

Insert Sum of Two fields In The Same Record Into Third Field

Post by k.vallely »

I have a table of customer orders with fields something like this:

customer : order-number : item1 : item1cost : item2 : item2cost : total-cost

I want the total-cost field to be the sum of item1cost and item2cost.
Do I use a query or can I do it in a formula?

Can I do it in my order entry form?
Can I create a dynamic total-cost field that is the sum of the item1cost and item2cost fields and updates when those fields are changed?

Please try not to smirk.
I'm a beginner.
I downloaded this week.
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
QuazzieEvil
Volunteer

Re: Insert Sum of Two fields In The Same Record Into Third Field

Post by QuazzieEvil »

you can either do it in a view/query or use OO Basic.

Using a view or query is the simplest method. Simply create a field that is the calculation (rather than selecting a field). The downside is that you may have difficulties creating a form base on a query and be able to update the underlying table.

With basic you can do something like this:

Code: Select all

Sub calcField(Event As Object)
REM Bound to 'Text Modified' event of Base & Height controls.
On Error Goto HandleError
	Dim v1 As Double
	Dim v2 As Double
	Dim Form As Object

Form=Event.Source.Model.Parent
	REM calc value of controls Base & Height, and store in Area--bound to table fields with same name
	v1=Form.getByName("Base").BoundField.getDouble()
	v2=Form.getByname("Height").BoundField.getDouble()
	Form.getByName("Area").BoundField.updateDouble(v1*v2)
HandleError:
	If err<>0 Then Exit Sub
End Sub
normansimonr

Re: Insert Sum of Two fields In The Same Record Into Third F

Post by normansimonr »

Hi everyone. I have this same question: I used this SQL query:

SELECT <field1>, <field2>, <field3>, (<field1> + <field2>) AS "SUM" FROM <Table_name>

And it worked.