SQL: Expect NULL but get zero

Creating tables and queries
NeoOOUEU

SQL: Expect NULL but get zero

Post by NeoOOUEU »

I'm new to OO (Base). I have some experience with MS Access and SQL. OO Base seems to be a useable alternative solution for me but I have to struggle with some issues.

One is: For a table with 3 decimal columns, NULL-able, I'd like to calculate the average value. In case at least one of the values is NULL also the average value should be NULL.

My query:

Code: Select all

SELECT "ID", "ScreeningDate", "Story", "Video", "Audio", ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3 AS "AVG" FROM "Screenings"
I'd expect the numeric expression to be NULL if at least one argument is NULL but I get zero:
OOB0NULL_01.PNG

I did also some other attempts but it is always the same: Zero and not NULL

SELECT
    "ID"
  , "ScreeningDate"
  , "Story"
  , "Video"
  , "Audio"

, ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3 AS "AVG"

, NULLIF ( ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3, 0 ) AS "AVG-NULLIF"
  , NULLIF ( ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3, 6.8 ) AS "AVG-NULLIF6.8"

, NULLIF ( ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3, NULL ) AS "AVG-NULLIFNULL"

, NULLIF ( ( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3, 0.0 ) AS "AVG-NULLIF0.0"

, CASE
      WHEN "Story" IS NULL THEN NULL
      ELSE( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3
    END AS "AVG-CASE"

, CASE
      WHEN "Story" IS NULL THEN 99.9
      ELSE( "Story" + "Video" + "Audio" ) / 3
    END AS "AVG-CASE99.9"

, NULL AS "RC-NULL"

FROM "Screenings"
OOB0NULL_02.PNG
As you can see for column "AVG-NULLIF6.8" (at the second row): The NULLIF is basically working but I don't get NULL.
Column "RC-NULL" was used to see if I can return NULL in principle (which is working fine).

What is wrong with my view?
I'm a wrong to expect NULL for the arithmetic expression if an argument is NULL?

I'm using the built-in HSQLDB with the latest JRE8 (from Oracle).