No "save" in Writer.

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?

No "save" in Writer.

Postby openofficeuser75 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:01 am

Three months ago, saving new documents in Writer suddenly stopped working. "Save" still works when editing old, previously saved documents and it works in all the other Open Office programs, such as "Calc", but not "Writer". Since I was unable to fix it, I uninstalled and deleted Open Office from my computer, then downloaded and installed the new 4.1.6 version of Open Office. Then, I started a new document in "Writer"and tried to save it, but it will not save, as before. My OS is Windows 10 on a Lenovo Laptop, series G710. If anyone knows how to fix this problem, please let me know.
OpenOffice version 4.1.6
OS: Windows 10
64 bit OS, x64-based processor, Lenovo-PC
openofficeuser75
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: No "save" in Writer.

Postby RoryOF » Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:15 am

Is there an error message? Check Windows Defender settings to permit OO create new files.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04.1 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31451
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: No "save" in Writer.

Postby Bill » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:01 am

openofficeuser75 wrote:...saving new documents in Writer suddenly stopped working. "Save" still works when editing old, previously saved documents and it works in all the other Open Office programs...

The "Save As" dialog should open when saving new documents to let the user set the name and location of the new document. Old documents are saved automatically without opening the "Save As" dialog. If the "Save As" dialog is not opening when saving new documents in Writer, then the "Save As" dialog may be appearing off the screen. The fix is to either use the standard procedure in Windows to move the dialog back to the screen (Alt+Space > Move) or reset your AOO user profile to move the dialog back to the default position. Removing and reinstalling AOO won't fix the dialog location.
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7881
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am


Return to Install, Setup and Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests