PDF extensions not working anymore

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
Kraftt

PDF extensions not working anymore

Post by Kraftt »

I'm a student relying on this program to open PDFs and edit them. I either need a fix or an alternative for editing pdf asap as I'm finishing finals and whatnot.

I currently have OpenOffice 4.1.3 installed. I have been using it for the past 2 years with the Oracle PDF import 1.0.4 extension installed and had no problems with it until now.
Today I tried to open my PDF files and I get the ASCII Filter Option popping up.
I looked in the extensions and there were none in there so I thought somehow they disappeared or were deleted.
I re download the Oracle PDF extension and was prompted with my downloads saying I already have this download.
So I look back into the extensions and there is a yellow exclamation beside the extension. Clicking enable brings up "loading component library failed"
I tried to disable and add the Oracle extension back in but I get the same results and before.
I tried deleted the extensions and downloading them again, then adding them through the extension manager, but no luck.

I have also tried this extension: https://www.arielch.org/aoo/aoo-pdf-import/
It is supposed to be compatible with version 4 of OO but I still get the same errors when adding it.

And on another note, checking for updates fails and same with in the extensions. I get "Error reading data from the internet".
(Also upon opening a Drawing or Text Document everything is underlined in red. But I've fixed that before so I am not too worried about it right now. I just want to know why all of a sudden this program is not working for me.)
RusselB

Re: PDF extensions not working anymore

Post by RusselB »

Welcome to the Forums.
Fist off, PDF files are not meant to be edited. They are meant to be the digital equivalent of a printed page.