Base does not load with Openoffice

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?

Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:18 pm

I have been running openoffice for some time and am just trying to use the database. In looking at the downloaded suite, base is missing!! Tried to re-install as custom, but base is given as not available. Why is that, and what can I do??
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby RoryOF » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:20 pm

Are you running OpenOffice or LibreOffice - /Help /About will tell you.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28414
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:25 pm

Running openoffice 4.1.6
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby RoryOF » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:26 pm

When you click to open Base, what message do you get?
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28414
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:32 pm

Base is not listed, so unable to select it. On the start up panel it is greyed out as is 'Formula'. It does not appear to have loaded at all. tried a re-install, but still no luck.
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby RoryOF » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:41 pm

From which site did you download? You should only download through

http://www.openoffice.org/download/

That site will redirect you to a SourceForge server and you selected download will start in about 5 seconds. Do not click on any link.

I suggest you try a fresh download and install from that.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28414
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:51 pm

Yes I have updated from the correct site and have again downloaded and installed. I tried a custom install where you can see all the possible modules available. The 'base' module is shown with a cross, meaning this feature is not available!! Not sure why it is not shown to be available??
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby RoryOF » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:54 pm

You will have to wait for a Windows-using Volunteer to assist. I don't use any modern Windows, so am unable to help further.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28414
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:56 pm

Thank you.
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Villeroy » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:05 pm

Run the installer for the same version you have installed. It will offer you to remove, repair or modify the existing installation. Choose to modify. Then have a look at the installed components. Writer, Calc, Impress, Draw, Math and Base should be installed in any case. Leaving out any of these core components does not give you any advantage, not even a considerable amount of disk space.
I tend to remove the "quick starter" which may cause trouble and instabilities together with the update notification which is broken and has to be disabled anyway.
I do not install anything that is labeled with "Active X ..."
I tend to add the "example filters for XLST". They provide the capabilities to read and write certain Word/Excel files.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 26399
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:23 pm

I have done exactly as you describe, but at the ‘modify’ selection, there is no option to select either ‘base’ or ‘formula’ they both have a cross against them!!
So I cannot change this. The version is 4.1.6 and all other modules work fine.
It seems there must be something fundamental here, but I cannot see what.
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Villeroy » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:46 pm

I would guess that you did not download the original OpenOffice package.
Either install from https://openoffice.org/ which redirects to sourceforge.net where the actual package is hosted
or install https://libreoffice.org/ which is the legitimate successor of OpenOffice. OpenOffice is almost dead by now.
Never download from arbitrary sites you found on google.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 26399
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Base does not load with Openoffice

Postby Cowpat2 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:56 pm

Indeed, the download came from the Sourceforge server, as asked by the previous responder earlier in the thread.
Openoffice 4.1.6 on windows 10
Cowpat2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:14 pm


Return to Install, Setup and Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests