[Solved] ASCII filter options dialog opening PDF with .doc extension

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
deannaeg

[Solved] ASCII filter options dialog opening PDF with .doc extension

Post by deannaeg »

Welcome beginner. What is your question or comment?
Please try to briefly and clearly tell us: What you want, What you tried, and What happened.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am using open office 2.4 (just updated to that today) and my OS is windows excel I've run a check for any virus or malware or anything else I could think of and it's clean. These are documents that I've been working with regularly for several months - I save and as necessary go back to that to update and then save again so it's not even newly created documents. I have some saved in Oo writer and some saved as pdf. Gradually over the last couple of days I have gotten this error and it is now affecting all of these particular files - not all of the files in writer just this group of files.
I get the ascii filter options thing.
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!

thanks
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Wed Aug 17, 2022 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved] -- MrProgrammer, forum moderator
OOo 2.4.X on Ms Windows XP
acknak

Re: ascii filter options

Post by acknak »

If you try to open a document and OOo shows you the "ASCII Filter Options" window, it usually means that OOo can't figure out how to open the document.

Are you trying to open the PDF files, or the .odt files?

OOo can't open PDF files, so you should normally get the filter options window in that case.

If you get the filter options window when you try to open an ODF text document (.odt), then it's a bad sign--the document is probably corrupted. If this is what you're seeing, maybe you could attach one of your documents here, and we can see more clearly what's wrong with it.