Lost files

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
loanmaker

Lost files

Post by loanmaker »

Good morning. I am quite a new user. I had Windows 10 and on the last critical upgrade - Saturday I think - my computer crashed and I lost everything - file, apps programs - everything. Fortunately I did a lot of back ups but, I am an author and some of my working papers in OOo were not backed up. For reasons I cannot explain, after 15 hours of trying to get my computer to work again I managed to get back to Windows 8 - but everything on the computer has been lost, My Chrome and AOL accounts history is in tact but nothing else. I understand it might be possible to recover files from my previous OOo and I wonder if anyone can help me. I can log into OOo using my old log in ( computer remembered my log in details) but nothing under that log in remains.

HELP

Loanmaker
Open Office 4.14
Windows 10
robleyd

Re: lost files

Post by robleyd »

You don't have to "log in" to OpenOffice; it may be that your new install ?? of OpenOffice will ask you for your name but this is not a login.

It is not clear how you rolled back to an earlier version of Windows and the process may have wiped your hard disk. I can only suggest you try the hints in [Tutorial] How to find and un-delete Writer temporary files to see if you can recover anything from your hard drive.
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.2.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.2 by Eric Hameleers
RoryOF

Post by RoryOF »

The Recent Documents list in OO is merely a useful set of shortcuts to recent files. The files themselves should still be on the hard drive in the directories in which they were originally stored. If you use OO's /File /Open to navigate to those directories, when you open each file it will show on Recent Documents. If you do not know where they were stored, use the system File Search to look for files of the correct type.