Attachment

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
tlynn1501

Attachment

Post by tlynn1501 »

I am new to open office 4.1.5 and to creating documents in general. I have my document ready to send but need to send it as an email attachment through an outside gmail or aol account. When I attach the document the attachment won't open. Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong? I've tried to reformat it as a PDF and it still won't open, and I don't see the option to save it as a Microsoft word file even though I believe I'm working out of Microsoft. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thank you
openoffice4.1.5
RoryOF

Re: Attachment

Post by RoryOF »

The attachment should be saved to the local hard disk before an attempt is made to open it.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
tlynn1501

Post by tlynn1501 »

I'm sorry but I don't quite understand. Are you saying everyone I send this to will need to save it to their local hard disc or that I need to save it to the hard disc in gmail? I'm sending it out to around 300 people and they won't take that extra step if I can't just attach and send it.
openoffice4.1.5
Zizi64
Volunteer

Post by Zizi64 »

Use a real mail client software like the Thunderbird.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO7.5.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-7.6.2;AOO4.1.14
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
robleyd

Post by robleyd »

What are the steps you are going through to get the file as an attachment, e.g.:

Open Writer; create document; save to hard drive in ??? format; open ??? mail program; add file as attachment
I don't see the option to save it as a Microsoft word file even though I believe I'm working out of Microsoft