[Solved] OpenOffice keeps crashing when I try to use it

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
turkris63

[Solved] OpenOffice keeps crashing when I try to use it

Post by turkris63 »

I have been using Open Office for several years and I love it! Up until a few weeks ago, that is!

Everytime that I try to work in it, I get a message that OpenOffice has crashed and a report has been sent to determine why it has crashed. It then offers me the opportunity to restore the docuement, but after a minute or so (sometimes as soon as I start to work in it), I get the same result. This is happening in documents that I have used numerous times before as well as new documents that I am trying to create. Sometimes after several times of recovering the document it will start working correctly but other times it does this continuously. I have a direct sales business as well as do a lot of advocating for a son who has autism and a boyfriend who is disabled after 21 years of Army combat service.

What could be causing this to happen? I would really hate to have to switch to a different program. Thank you!
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Mark as [Solved] and add green checkmark; Moved from Install, Setup and Troubleshooting forum to MS Windows
OpenOffice 4.1.3 Windows 10
thomasjk
Volunteer

Re: OpenOffice keeps crashing when I try to use it

Post by thomasjk »

Try resetting the user profile viewtopic.php?f=74&t=12426
Tom K.
Windows 10 Home version 1803 17134.165
LibreOffice 5.4.7.2
acknak

Post by acknak »

Greetings and welcome to the community forum!

When OO suddenly starts acting strangely, it's often cured by a fresh OO settings profile. This just means exiting OO, renaming (or removing) the folder where OO stores all its settings, then restarting OO. It will then create a new settings profile folder.

For details, see: [Tutorial] The OOo user profile

PS: Oops! Too slow.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23