[Workaround] Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?

[Workaround] Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:20 pm

In the FAQ I found these:
Does OpenOffice.org 2 have full support of TrueType fonts?
Partially.

and
I see "square boxes" instead of regular characters
The text contains characters that are not supported by the selected font. OOo also didn't find a suitable alternative font for these characters.

and
Does OpenOffice.org 2 support OpenType fonts named with ".TTF" (having TrueType outlines?)
Yes, to the extent that they resemble TrueType fonts (see below). This may be enough for many users.
Part of the value the OpenType format adds is that it allows fonts with better typographic controls, which can support some languages (like Indic languages or Arabic) that other formats don't support. OpenOffice 2 doesn't go very far in this direction. See Bug #16032 "OOo should support optional OpenType features" and Bug #78749 "some Latin text needs CTL processing" for more information.

The last quote from the FAQ isn't understandable for me.

So, I have TrueType font (code128.ttf), which displays barcodes. You can get it here: http://grandzebu.net/informatique/codbar/code128.ttf

Some symbols are displayed as a sqare boxes. Meantime the word hasn't any problems displaying it correctly.

Is it possible to make open office display font correctly? If MS Office can, why Open Office can't?

Here is example:
Open_Offce_Problem_BarCode.jpg
Open_Offce_Problem_BarCode.jpg (18.56 KiB) Viewed 7897 times

My system:
Windows XP pro (32bit)
OO 3.0.1, but also tried on 3.2.0
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displayes some symbols of font

Postby Robert Tucker » Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:47 pm

The result I get:

barcode.png
LibreOffice 7.x.x on Fedora 33 and Ubuntu 20.10 (Dual Boot)
User avatar
Robert Tucker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Incorrectly displayes some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:21 pm

Have you used the font from the link I provided?

Try to open this file: http://povilas.panavas.lt/kita/essai_code_128.sxc

Maybe it depends on the system configuration. I will try to use this font on my home laptop.
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displayes some symbols of font

Postby Robert Tucker » Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:33 pm

PovilasPanavas wrote:Have you used the font from the link I provided?

Yes.

PovilasPanavas wrote:Try to open this file: http://povilas.panavas.lt/kita/essai_code_128.sxc

I get this:

essai_code_128.png


I followed these instructions:

http://www.idautomation.com/openoffice/
LibreOffice 7.x.x on Fedora 33 and Ubuntu 20.10 (Dual Boot)
User avatar
Robert Tucker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Incorrectly displayes some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:13 pm

Well, I have tried it on my personal laptop (Windows 7, Oppen Ofifce 3.2.1) and still the same result.

Also, I've just tried to follow these instructions http://www.idautomation.com/openoffice/, before that I' deleted old macros. But it hasn't change anything, some symbols is displayed incorrectly.

Robert, as I can see, you aren't using windows operating system. Maybe the problem exists only in windows based platforms?
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:34 pm

I have tried printing barcodes and found out that printed versions looks the same, despite different look in print preview. Both word and writer leaves the same empty spaces, where open office display square boxes. Strange...
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:58 pm

Well, I have tried on one of the servers (Windows Server Standard 2008 SP2, OO 3.1.1). It displays bar code correctly (http://povilas.panavas.lt/kita/essai_code_128.sxc), when I open the same file, which on my computer is wrongly displayed.

So, it's definitely depends on the system configuration. Now, I would like to know, how to make all the client computers display it the right way?
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby PovilasPanavas » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:43 am

The problem remains, but I have accomplished my mission - adding bar codes support to open office documents.

So, I generate barcode.bmp and programically add it to the end of the printed document. The picture is picture and no fonts are required.
Open Office 3.0.1, Windows XP profesional (32bit)
PovilasPanavas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby Hagar Delest » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:16 pm

Note that .bmp is the worst format there can be for a pic. Better save it as .png.
AOO 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 10 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28998
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Workaround] Incorrectly displays some symbols of font

Postby mstraszak » Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:48 pm

Hi,

I've found another workaround.
In Control Panel / Regional Settings, 3rd tab - Advanced, select "English (USA)" from combo box (sets language for applications not supporting unicode), OK, restart.
I don't know how it's connected. May have some side effects.
OpenOffice 3.2 on Ubuntu 10.04
mstraszak
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:27 pm


Return to Install, Setup and Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests