Cannot open file (text replaced by hash tags)

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
Mhumphreys

Cannot open file (text replaced by hash tags)

Post by Mhumphreys »

Hello--when I try and open a file in open office it comes up with a request headed ASC11 Filter Options--Western Windows125--the next option to open read only or edit comes up with the letters changed to hash tags--how do I correct--Help needed--I am a computer novice !
open office writer 3.1
Hagar Delest

Re: CANNOT OPEN FILE

Post by Hagar Delest »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

See: [Tutorial] The Dreaded Pound Signs: file reduced to ####.
Good luck.
I hope you had backups!
LibreOffice 7.6.2.1 on Xubuntu 23.10 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
John_Ha
Volunteer

Re: Cannot open file (text replaced by hash tags)

Post by John_Ha »

There are, in addition, some other methods in [Tutorial] How to find and un-delete AOO temporary files for detailed instructions on how to

a) use Previous Versions (W7 and later) to recover previous versions of the file (is there something similar on MacOS and Linux?);

b) recover your file as it was when you last opened or saved it, or as it was when it was last saved with AutoRecovery;

c) find previous versions of the file in the folder it is located in, but which have since been deleted;

d) find any temporary files AOO wrote while you were editing the file but which have not yet been deleted;

e) un-delete the temporary files AOO wrote while you were editing the file, and then deleted.

f) Some settings you can make to save AutoRecovery and backup files automatically.

d) and e) will recover your file as it was when you last opened or you last saved it.

If you cannot follow the instructions ask someone with more PC skills to help you. Act quickly - the longer you wait the more likely any temporary or deleted files are to be overwritten and lost.
LO 6.4.4.2, Windows 10 Home 64 bit