[Solved] How to use Table=

Let us know how we are doing -

[Solved] How to use Table=

Postby LeroyTennison » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:57 am

One of the options when posting a new topic is "Table=" but I can't figure out how to use it. Can someone explain how to use this option to produce a table containing a specified number of rows and columns? Alternatively, can someone point me to an explanation of how all of the options?
Last edited by LeroyTennison on Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 on Linux (Ubuntu 14.04 LTS)
LeroyTennison
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:12 am

Re: How to use Table=

Postby RoryOF » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:08 am

Discussion on aligntable at
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=1087
Discussion on Table at
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35802
significant info in the last few posts of that thread from Hagar & Paddy Landau.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31087
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to use Table=

Postby LeroyTennison » Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:05 am

Oh, searched the forums for the wrong thing (no wonder I didn't find it :) ). Thanks for the reply. Looks like tables are single column only at this point. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Last edited by LeroyTennison on Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 on Linux (Ubuntu 14.04 LTS)
LeroyTennison
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:12 am

Re: How to use Table=

Postby RoryOF » Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:14 am

That is my understanding. One of the replies (from Hagar?) suggests using Code tags and tabs or spaces to build a pseudo table. I would suggest this is possibly the quickest way to pose a table-related question; it could be accompanied by a screenshot of a mocked up table or an incorrect table, to better illustrate a point.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31087
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to use Table=

Postby acknak » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:20 pm

Saving (from Calc) as "Text (CSV)", choosing the "fixed width" option and wrapping the pasted output inside [code] or [​pre]tags is passable for simple data:

Area       sq.ft     Setting  Applied (lRate (lb/ksNotes      
A 150 27 2 13.3 Fill spread
C 150 28 2 13.3
E 150 28 2 13.3
B 150 29 5 33.3 Rate wrong:
D 150 29 – –
E 150 29 3 20.0
F 150 30 3.5 23.3
G 150 32 5 33.3
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How to use Table=

Postby LeroyTennison » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:22 pm

Thanks acknak, time to switch rather than fight.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 on Linux (Ubuntu 14.04 LTS)
LeroyTennison
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:12 am


Return to Site Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest