Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:58 pm
by huw
OPEN OFFICE WRITER -
by csnadan on Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:59 pm

It is appearing in every forum. I have not used the "Report" button because it is the whole thread rather than just one post.

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:00 pm
by acknak
Yow! I moved it to Writer (general) and changed it to a regular thread.

Should any user be able to post announcements? I would think that should be moderators-only, no?

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:06 pm
by DrewJensen
thanks..but how did it become an announcement in the first place...that should not be available to a user not in the moderator group?

I'll go do some checking - maybe I have something configured incorrectly..I'll let folks know if I find something.

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:11 am
by huw
I had a look and couldn't find an "Announcement" option anywhere. Maybe it is a bug triggered by the ALL CAPS?

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:39 pm
by probe1
on some boards I noticed it, creating a new "Newtopic", there are options to "Post topic as": Normal, Sticky, Announce and Global

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:00 pm
by DrewJensen
I have gone through all the forums - there where a few that had the wrong access rights set

Current setting for Registered User Group
All Forums are Standard Access ( Read , Create Subject, Edit Own Subject, Delete Own Subject - NO POLLS)
For Community forums only - Standard Access + Polls

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:07 am
by Hagar Delest
Weird. Could it be related to the Chart forum that got locked few days ago ? some bug well hidden here ?

Re: Rogue announcement

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:21 am
by DrewJensen
Not sure what it was - most likely just a mistake when I set everything up -

It should be all straight now