New AOO user with a pdf related question

Discuss the word processor
ashley-wayne

New AOO user with a pdf related question

Post by ashley-wayne »

Hello everyone,

I am very new to OO, but am very excited with what I have seen so far. I do have a question though related to importing PDF files that I am hoping you can help me with. I have found the PDF import extension and it seems to work. However, I am not able to read the imported files in the draw format. This is because I am blind and use a screen-reading program (NVDA) that cannot read in that format.

I have used a trial version of Microsoft Word 2016 and when I open a PDF there, it will directly convert it to a .doc format upon opening it. This is very useful when using a screen-reader, as I really do not like reading PDF files with adobe, I have personally never found it to work well. Is there a way to accomplish this direct conversion in OO? Thank you all so much for your time and I hope you all have a great evening.;
OpenOffice 4.1.3 on Windows 10
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: new OO user with a pdf related question;

Post by Villeroy »

PDF is a virtual print-out. You can not import PDF for the same reason why you can not re-import a printed sheet of paper into your computer. The PDF file contains no information from the originating application. It only saves information about which line, which coloured area and which characters are placed at which location on the area that represents a virtual sheet of paper. No more, no less. Therefore you only need a PDF viewer to view the virtual print-out without even knowing which application produced that file. Even cell phones have PDF viewers.