How to edit a PDF easily

Discussions about using 3rd party extension with OpenOffice.org
Jimmy B

How to edit a PDF easily

Post by Jimmy B »

Hi there
I am new to joining this forum and thanks for letting me join. I have downloaded openoffice 4.1.3 and downloaded the oracle PDF extension.
It all downloaded fine. When I open the PDF in openoffice and try to select the words I need to edit it wont let me, it only has this cursor that looks like a 4 pointed arrow (if you know what I mean) and I cant select or high light the words. There are a lot of symbols and stuff ive clicked on to try high light words or get a cursor but nothing works
Hope someone can help?

BTW im not very good with computers so if its a basic fix let me know.

Thank you
openoffice 4 on windows 7
RusselB

Re: How to edit a PDF easily

Post by RusselB »

A PDF file is not designed for editing.
Apparently there are two versions of the extension. Are you sure you got the right one?
Even if you did, I note that the 4.x compatibility ratio (as submitted by users) is 43% YES to 57% NO.
That means that most of the users that have submitted ratings believe that it should not be considered compatible with Open Office 4.x
I also noted that the author states
Best results with 100% layout accuracy can be achieved with the "PDF/ODF hybrid file" format, which this extension also enables. A hybrid PDF/ODF file is a PDF file that contains an embedded ODF source file. Hybrid PDF/ODF files will be opened in OpenOffice.org as an ODF file without any layout changes.
It sounds like your PDF is being recognized as a collage of pictures, rather than as an editable document.

Where did the PDF come from? If it was someone you know, ask them for a version that is not in PDF format, preference given to a file in Open Document format (.odt for Writer).
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)