Topdown advice sought: please suggest the best tool to use

Not sure where to post? Post here!
map_lecturer

Topdown advice sought: please suggest the best tool to use

Post by map_lecturer »

I am running OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7 (may also need to use Windows Vista home premium)

Yes I am new to the forum though a longtime, but light, user of OpenOffice Writer and Presentation.

I am a classroom teacher at a community college and know what it is like to answer the same question repeatedly. I have searched around the forums but not yet found the sort of discussion I am hoping for.

What I am hoping for is some experienced guidance on how to use Open Office to answer the following need.

I would like to store and retrieve a set of demonstration test questions for use in the classroom. The questions are multiple choice and can be classified by subject and type.* What I would like to achieve is to be able to dynamically call up a set of questions filtered in different ways, and have them presented, ideally, so they could be displayed on a projector directly to the class, or at least, so they can be copied easily to the whiteboard.

So far I have tried a few tutorials on ooBase from here:
http://sheepdogguides.com/fdb/fdb1main.htm
and learned that the programming I will have to do seems quite involved.

So any advice would be appreciated. Is Base the best tool for this? If so, what are the presentation options once a query has returned results? Can a query be built dynamically from a form? Are there better tools for this applicatioin? Writer? Calc? Presentation?

In the past I have had some success presenting multiple choice questions as html files generated from a Python program. But the process is not dynamic. Would it make sense, for instance, to product html files from inside Base?

Can anyone suggest a cogent approach to solving this task?
If there is a better place to ask this, please advise.

Regards, Jim