Writer won't open .doc files (all of a sudden)

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
BTRIPP

Writer won't open .doc files (all of a sudden)

Post by BTRIPP »

I just had this problem crop up tonight (3/11/2011) ... when I try to open a file that's been saved as a .doc (Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP) file I get a little OpenOffice 3.3. error box that says "Read Error. This is not a WinWord97 file.", with the sole option of "OK" which aborts the open. What's especially irritating in this is that it even happens on .doc files that I saved that way just an hour or so previously!

I've been using OpenOffice for several years, and, again, this just cropped up tonight.

I have so far tried the following:

I first shut down the computer and did a hard reboot (not just a restart) ... the problem persisted.

I uninstalled OpenOffice via the "Programs & Features" part of Window's "Control Panel", downloaded a fresh installer from OpenOffice.org, and re-installed the program ... the problem persisted.

The only thing that I can think may have happened was that there was something in the latest upgrade that Windows installed (which happened tonight) that is somehow messing with other programs (i.e. OpenOffice) opening up Microsoft Office files ... but that would be pretty extreme, and I'd think anybody else running Vista would be seeing the same problem if this was the case.

I've pretty much run out of things I can think of to get this to work. Fortunately, OpenOffice is still reading .xls files just fine in Calc (as I save those all the time in .xls), but right now I can't get into any of my .doc files with OpenOffice Writer, and (while I save most of my files in .odt format, I have several things ONLY in .doc, as well as having .doc files coming in from other people).

Any suggestions how to fix this?

thanks.
:crazy:
OpenOffice.org 3.3.0 - Windows Vista
RoryOF

Re: Writer won't open .doc files (all of a sudden)

Post by RoryOF »