Compatibility with MS Office 2010

Not sure where to post? Post here!
windling74

Compatibility with MS Office 2010

Post by windling74 »

Good morning to you all!
I apologize if I'm not in the right place or if someone already posted the answer (I could not find one).

My name is Andrea, I'm an italian chemist (a bearded male, in case you're wondering, I know, but in Italy Andrea it's only a male name, there's a huge M under Sex in my Identity Card:-) and I've Openoffice 3.2 on a Windows XP Professional operating system. I am a happy user of Openoffice since a long time ago, and I am very grateful for this wonderful software. Years ago Openoffice saved my ass with many .doc 2007 files and I didn't have installed (nor want to) Office 2007. I had 99% compatibility for word excel and powerpoint files, till 2007.

I work as a researcher in Nanotechnology in a Swiss university and my pc has not Office 2010 installed: I don't complain, I use Openoffice if I can, but my problem is that I find more and more files in MSOffice 2010 format.
Since I don't want and can't anyway install MS Office 2010, I was wondering when I will have the possibility to open a MSOffice 2010 file with Openoffice.

Can you someone answer to me about this.

Thank you
Andrea Barbiero
Openoffice 3.2 on Windows XP Professional
Hagar Delest

Re: Compatibility with Office 2010

Post by Hagar Delest »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

The .docx format is a rather dirty format. See for example the first links in that topic: MS Office 2007 OOXML file format (docx, xslx, pptx, ppsx). So using it with something different from MS Office would lead to some surprises. Better avoid it I think.

NB: OOo can open MS Office 2010 files but can't save for the moment. There a lot of topics here about that problem.

Please add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
LibreOffice 7.6.2.1 on Xubuntu 23.10 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
jipex