Can I delete files in MS Word after saving in ODT for Open O

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
Jaynamiah

Can I delete files in MS Word after saving in ODT for Open O

Post by Jaynamiah »

I cut and pasted from MSW to Open Office. I saved as ODT, it was already set to automatic OTD. But the document in my files list has the MSW logo not the OO logo. I tried deleting the original MSW document but it said I couldn't because it was already open. The only way I can open my OO doc is to go to OO on my computer, go to File and recent documents. Otherwise opening from my files, even if it says odt, it is still a Word document. Super confused as to why that is. Help! is there no way to just use Open office? I'm new to Open Office.
Open Office 4, Microsoft 2013
FJCC

Re: Can I delete files in MS Word after saving in ODT for Op

Post by FJCC »

You need to change the default program for opening odt files. Right click on a file icon and choose Open With. Writer will probably be listed among the options. If not, click More Apps and find Writer in that list. Select the box next to Always Use This App To Open ODT Files and then click on the Writer icon.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
Zizi64
Volunteer

Post by Zizi64 »

If you saved your document in .odt format, then the file is an ODF document, and there is somewhere the original .doc or .docx document.

If the icons in the file explorer showss your files as "MS Office documents", then the file association is wrong in the Windows. Set it properly.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO7.5.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-7.6.2;AOO4.1.14
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
Jaynamiah

Post by Jaynamiah »