Free software and copyright protected content

Talk about anything at all....
femina

Free software and copyright protected content

Post by femina »

Hello everybody, I am a visual artist and I have always been inspired by classic rock legends. I wish to make a series of original paintings that depict famous classic rock bands. I want to include the name of the band along the bottom of each one picture. After the painting is done, it might look much like a poster, but original artwork. Would they be legal to sell? Would I have any problems?
Lichtenstein print
OOo 2.3.X on Mandriva + none
keme
Volunteer

Re: Photoshop look-alike

Post by keme »

femina wrote:Hello everybody, I am a visual artist and I have always been inspired by classic rock legends. I wish to make a series of original paintings that depict famous classic rock bands. I want to include the name of the band along the bottom of each one picture. After the painting is done, it might look much like a poster, but original artwork. Would they be legal to sell? Would I have any problems?
This is not a site for legal advice. Ask here if you need help using the Open Office software suite.

For legal questions concerning the use of registered trademarks and lookalikes in artwork, consult your local autorities on copyright administration, and/or artists' organizations.
Apache OO 4.1.12 and LibreOffice 7.5, mostly on Ms Windows 10
Caracalla
Volunteer

Post by Caracalla »

keme wrote:
femina wrote:Hello everybody, I am a visual artist and I have always been inspired by classic rock legends. I wish to make a series of original paintings that depict famous classic rock bands. I want to include the name of the band along the bottom of each one picture. After the painting is done, it might look much like a poster, but original artwork. Would they be legal to sell? Would I have any problems?
This is not a site for legal advice. Ask here if you need help using the Open Office software suite.