OOo class/training/conference help available?

Talk about anything at all....
mister_d

OOo class/training/conference help available?

Post by mister_d »

I'm an elementary teacher that works in a district that is (in the process of) switching to OOo from Ms Office. The problem is getting teachers to actually use it. Are there classes (community college/continuing education), live training (opposed to handouts), or conferences (local level = we obviously aren't able to go to China - that's probably way above us anyhow) available?

Many district staff members are grumbling about this change - I think most are scared of trying to learn something new. At least with Ms Office we could take classes, have trainers come in, or buy one of the "dummies" books to try and ease the pain.
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
keme
Volunteer

Re: OOo class/training/conference help available?

Post by keme »

There used to be an Open Office for dummies, but I guess that was for versions 1.x. (It seems to be out of print, but still listed at Amazon.)

The official guides are available in ODF, PDF, and HTML (wiki) format, as well as in print. See the OOo documentation project pages. Not quite OOo for dummies, though. But if you have taken classes in MS Office, the transition to Open Office applications should go very smoothly.

I understand the reservations towards change very well. That reservation may be a reason to switch. (For those familiar with MS Office 97/200/XP/2003, it's easier to switch to Open Office 2.x/3.x than "upgrading" to MS Office 2007.)

Furthermore, teachers at large are reflecting, conscious people that see the bigger picture better than the average person. Arguing on the platform independence, open format specification, and freedom of choice for students, might help convincing them. The thriller of OOXML approval in ISO is an additional resource, but perhaps a little long winded and requiring some research.