Where is JRE?

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
thafner

Where is JRE?

Post by thafner »

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Open Office. Installed 4.1.1 just recently.

Having fun with spreadsheets. Making some macros. Ran into difficulty in the Tools|Customize dialog box where it says "OpenOffice requires a Java runtime environment (JRE) to perform this task. Please install a JRE and restart OpenOffice."

So I downloaded jre-7-windows-x64.exe from Oracle's site and ran it. Java reported to me that it was installed properly. Closed everything, restarted PC, restarted OO. Same error in Tools|Customize.

Searched around, turns out you have to actually tell OO that you have JRE installed. (Seems funny and not very friendly, but whatever.) So I go to Tools|Options, select OpenOffice, select Java, and then hit the "Add..." button. Most natural paths to provide are

c:\program files\java
c:\program files\java\jre7
c:\program files\java\jre7\bin
c:\program files\java\jre7\lib

None of these work. Neither do a whole host of subfolders. Can't find JRE elsewhere. So where the **** is my JRE?

I'm running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.

Thanks,
--Tom.
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 7 Pro Service Pack 1 64 bit
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Where is JRE?

Post by Villeroy »

Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java
c:\program files (x86)\java\jre7
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
thafner

Post by thafner »

My PC is 64 bit. My Java install file is 64 bit. Not surprisingly, there is no java folder in c:\program files (x86).
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

You did not follow the link.
OpenOffice is 32 bit and any Java component of OpenOffice needs to be run by a 32 bit Java engine.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.