Newbie questions

Getting your data onto paper - or the web - Discussing the reports features of Base
RhinoCan

Newbie questions

Post by RhinoCan »

I'm rather new to Base but I'm quite familiar with databases in general.

1. I've got a rather simple report based on a query that includes two run-time variables. When I run the query directly, it prompts for the variable values and the query executes successfully. However, when I base a report on that same query and then run the report, it's very hit or miss whether the report will prompt for the variables. I've got one report based on the query where it always prompts for the variables but the other reports based on the same query NEVER prompt for the variables, they just show the default report with the Latin text. What am I doing wrong?

2. When I use an ORDER BY AGENCY, ORDER_DATE clause in my query, the report does NOT show the rows such that all the rows of a given Agency appear together. I get a few rows of the first agency, then a few rows of the second agency, then the remaining rows of the first agency, then the remaining rows of the second agency. I've tried omitting the ORDER BY and controlling the sequence entirely from within the report but that never gives the desired result either.

3. When I've created a report via the wizard and saved it, how do I change the things that I set within the wizard after I've completed the save? For instance, if I want to change the sort order after I've saved, how do I do that? Right-clicking on the report and choosing Edit lets me do things regarding the format of the report but I'm darned if I can find a way to change sort sequence or any of the others things I chose in the wizard. How can I do this?

4. How can I add totals to my report? The query I have lists the details of sales activity pretty well for the most part but how do I total all the commissions for each agency and count the number of sales for each agency? I don't see any way to do that?