[Solved] NO access to JAVA in Chrome

Getting your data onto paper - or the web - Discussing the reports features of Base
camnaval

[Solved] NO access to JAVA in Chrome

Post by camnaval »

I am new at using Base, therefore I started by reading the guide for this program, prepared by you, i.e. Apache OpenOffice.
Right in the 1st page of these instructions there is a clear picture of the fact that Base does extensive use of JAVA.
On the other hand, Chrome indicates that it has stopped access to JAVA´s NPAPI plug-in, a vital connection to BASE.
All my programs - including all other parts of OpenOffice - are running smoothly in Chrome.
Do I have to use another browser just to run BASE on it?
Is there a way to solve - or circumvent - this problem?
Looking forward to hear from you.
/////////////////////////////// CAM, StaFe, RA - 210126 1700 Hrs ART/
Last edited by robleyd on Wed Jan 27, 2021 3:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Add green tick
OpenOffice 4.1.4
Windows 10
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: NO access to JAVA in Chrome

Post by Villeroy »

Do yourself a favour and install LibreOffice.
https://libreoffice/download
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
Mountaineer

Post by Mountaineer »

camnaval wrote:.
Right in the 1st page of these instructions there is a clear picture of the fact that Base does extensive use of JAVA.
We should look more closely. Base does not really need Java. I have for example external SQLite-Files connected through odbc-driver. No need for java here.

But Base also have a embedded Database, where you can include the data in the odb-File. And this hsql-db is written in Java. If you use it, you have to install and use java.

Also Open/LibreOffice supports extensions in several languages. Some assistants and especially the report-generator uses Java. So if you need this partsyou need java.