Connecting two OpenOffice databases

dBase, Calc, CSV, MS ACCESS, MySQL, PostgrSQL, OTHER
oti

Connecting two OpenOffice databases

Post by oti »

Hi All!

I'm new to OpenOffice. Just decided to try to transport an old MS Access based invoicing system I made to OpenOffice. However, I just got into a challenge after importing the tables.
The thing is, I split the MS Access database into two different database files where the tables were located in one and all the other items in the system was in another file. The reason for this was that I could update and make enhancements to the system without changing the tables at the user site. It was an easy task to develop changes and then just swap the 'system' datafile at the customer site.

I can't find a way to do this with OpenOffice. Any hints?
My need for this separation has become more necessary now as some customers want to access the database from different client computers with different operating systems. My plan is to have the tables database on a windows PC while the system database can run on any client that supports OpenOffice.

On a side note - is it possible to link tables in an OpenOffice database with ODBC or another connection protocol?

Thanks in advance!
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10, MacOS X and more
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Re: Connecting two OpenOffice databases

Post by UnklDonald418 »

The first page of the Database wizard used to create a new Base database includes an option to Connect to an existing database. Use the list box to select from a number of connection protocols, ODBC being one of them.