Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Trying to open database

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:17 pm
by graycd12
I am trying to open databases but keep getting "need JRE installed" I have downloaded and installed JRE9, restarted the computer and still get this error. The data base was created on a previous version of Open Office.

Re: Trying to open database

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:22 pm
by Villeroy
IEither install LibreOffice (64bit) on your 64bit system or install a 32bit Java for the 32bit OpenOffice. A 32bit Java on a 64bit Windows system resides in C:\WIndows\Program Files (x86)\ and can be downloaded here: https://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

Re: Trying to open database

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:38 pm
by graycd12
Thanks so much. :bravo: Solved!!!!!

Re: Trying to open database

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:12 pm
by mbressler
I have similar problem. I've used base before. Downloaded OO to a new computer, andI seems everything works except base. I can open the the first part of base which lists the tables. But if I click on one of the tables to open, I get the message JRE not installed ...., and a similar message if when I click ok. The thing is that I installed JDK which supposedly contains JRE, and it still didn't find it Then I installed public JRE, still the same. I'd appreciate any advice on any way I can get this working on my computer (Dell XPS 8910, W10, I7 (6700). Thanks very much
MB

Re: [Solved] Trying to open database

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:12 pm
by FJCC
Did you install a 32 bit Java? It would have 586 in the file name. If you go to Tools -> Options, expand the OpenOffice list on the left and pick Java, is Use a Java Runtime Environment selected, does a Java version appear in the Already Installed area and is the radio button next to it selected?

Re: [Solved] Trying to open database

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:03 am
by mbressler
Hi, thanks for the response. I'm pretty sure I installed the 64 bit java because it is a 64 bit system. When I follow your instructions the Java Runtime Environment is selected, but there is no Java version listed.
Thanks again

Re: [Solved] Trying to open database

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:22 am
by robleyd
You'll need to install a 32 bit Java because AOO on Windows is 32 bit, regardless of the Windows bit width. You can have both 32 and 64 bit versions on your system.

Re: [Solved] Trying to open database

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:33 am
by mbressler
Thanks David,
Well, I tried that. Went to http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... 33155.html
and downloaded:
Windows x86 Offline 61.08 MB jre-8u152-windows-i586.exe

It said it installed, but when I restarted, still have the same problems, can't find JRE - need to install.

MB

DISREGARD MY PREVIOUS MESS

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:38 am
by mbressler
I restarted a second time and we're on. Thanks very much for your help.
MB