[Solved] Macro to Append Data to Database

dBase, Calc, CSV, MS ACCESS, MySQL, PostgrSQL, OTHER
calc-learner

[Solved] Macro to Append Data to Database

Post by calc-learner »

I'm totally new to macros and somewhat new to databases using Base, so please excuse my ignorance here:

1. Is it possible to create a macro to append data from a sheet to a table in the database?
2. Suppose the data columns were something simple like "Key", "Date", "Name" and the sheet was named "sheet1". What would be the macro to insert this into database titled "dbase" and table titled "dtable"? (Assuming the table has already been created already with the exact same columns and that the database is an .odb file found at root directory "C:\". The Datasource URL is "hsqldb:hsql://localhost/;default_schema=true;get_column_name=false". The JDBC driver class is "org.hsqldb.jdbcDriver".)
3. This last question relates to databases and permissions. Assuming all of the above is true about the database, how can I have a remote computer have permission to copy changes to tables (append or otherwise) to the database? I.e. if another user accesses the database and presses F4 and drags data into "Tables" in the database(currently this setup is only allowing the administrator to append to the database this way).

Big thanks ahead of time!
Last edited by calc-learner on Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:37 am, edited 3 times in total.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 Windows 10 Enterprise
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Macro to Append Data to Database

Post by Villeroy »

Everything is possible but a general solution is incredibly difficult because a spreadsheet has only 2 data types which need to be mapped to a dozend of field types in a database. You can easily attach input forms to your spreadsheet and connect them to your registered Base document. A form on a Calc sheet works exactly like a form on an embedded Writer document.