Importing Text or PDF Files

dBase, Calc, CSV, MS ACCESS, MySQL, PostgrSQL, OTHER
workinstiff

Importing Text or PDF Files

Post by workinstiff »

I am a novice OOo Base user and I would like to know if there is any way to upload a text document or PDF into an existing database. The documents eventually need to be keyword searchable through the database, so I can't upload it as a simple Jpeg. I am not familiar with scripting in HSQL or MySQL, so I was just hoping there was a function in the database service itself for uploading documents. Any tips?
Electric Boogaloo! Open office 3.4.0
rudolfo
Volunteer

Re: Importing Text or PDF Files

Post by rudolfo »

This depends on what you understand when you say a text document?
XML documents (including unzipped OOo Writer files, typically content.xml or unzipped .docx files) are plain text files and can be loaded into a string or text column of a database and that column can have a full text index (and you are done). I have only few experience with MySQL and full text indexes, but I remember that there is an absolute limit for text columns (might be 4 KByte or 1 MByte, google for it if you need to know it exactly).
If you are beyond this limit you will have to use a BLOB (binary large object) column to store your data. The same is true if you use a non plain/text format like .doc or .pdf. BLOB columns can't have a full text index, in none of the databases I am aware of (Oracle, MySQL, HDBSQL, SQLite, PostgreSQL, MSSQL).
Note, that storing XML in a string column is not the way it is meant to be. Some database have special extensions to store XML objects/nodes in database fields. Because if you store it in a plain string column and create a full-text index for it, the index will also contain tagnames as entries.
<root><city>London</city><city>Paris</city></root>