[Solved] Print single ID barcode label

Creating and using forms
ns309

[Solved] Print single ID barcode label

Post by ns309 »

I have a base form, in which I would like to print the person_id on a bar code printer when the print ID button is pressed.

I have tried looking for a macro that would do that. I am not too good at writing macros myself.

I have also tried to create a report that would list all the person_id's but still cannot find a way to print just one person_id.

Please can anybody help me with this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I attach the database for your reference.

Thank you

N
Attachments
ns_q4_03112017.odb
(37.64 KiB) Downloaded 258 times
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Print single ID barcode label

Post by Villeroy »

I cant open your document because of error "The connection to the data source "ns_q4_03112017" could not be established."

Anyway, macros are not the solution (almost never), particularly if you can't program.

Create a parameter query:

Code: Select all

SELECT * 
FROM "some table" 
WHERE "person_id" = :Enter_Person_ID
and create your label document, report or whatever based on that query.
It will prompt you to enter a person id.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
ns309

Post by ns309 »

Thank you so much for your suggestion.

I created the query as per your suggestion and attached it to the report. When I open the report it asks for an ID and after entering the ID the report opens as an .odt file.

All good so far. However, the report opens as an A4 document. Is it possible to make the report open as a label (2.5cm x 2.5cm).

Many thanks for your help.
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

All database objects can be opened for editing.