[Solved] Cannot enter data in one particular field anymore

Creating and using forms
GuidoThys

[Solved] Cannot enter data in one particular field anymore

Post by GuidoThys »

Hi, I am an amateur user so I am not all too sophisticated. Nevertheless I managed to create a table and a form for data entry, containing a large number of fields.
I have managed to import a lot of data from Excel and added a few hundred records by using the form since.
Until now everything worked fine (although rather slowly, but I can live with that).
All of a sudden one field does not work anymore:
- it still appears in the form
- it also appears in the table and all data entered in it upto now seem intact
- I can enter data into the field in the form, in new as well as in existing records
- however, the "save"-button (floppy with green arrow) on the form navigation toolbar does not become clickable (as it does when I enter data in all the other fields)
- when I use the arrow keys to go to next or previous records (still in the form), the data I just entered move along to those records (so in my amateur lingo: it looks as if the data somehow get stuck on the form and never reach the database)
- when I save and close the form, all data are stored, except the data of that particular field. :crazy:

System info: version 4.1.3. on a windows10 laptop.

Thanks for any suggestions as to what is going wrong! :super:

P.S. I can upload the .odb file if required and if uploading 380 Mb is ok on this forum.
Last edited by RoryOF on Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Solved] and green tick [RoryOF, Moderator]
OpenOffice 4.1.3. on Windows 10
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Re: Cannot enter data in one particular field anymore

Post by UnklDonald418 »

Uploading the .obd will probably be needed for anyone to duplicate your problem.
But 380MB is too large to upload here.
There is a tutorial on uploading that shows options for sharing oversize files.
viewtopic.php?f=74&t=8289