Specified count of records in subform

Creating and using forms
harda

Specified count of records in subform

Post by harda »

Hi guys! I'm a newbie here but I started to love LO and the community arround it. Hope you can help me solve my problem.

I am trying to build a simple database to watch productivity and few other things in our factory. We use Calc for this right now, but as the number of records and functions rises, I think we should migrate this in Base. Building the database itself seems to be quite easy, but right now I am struggling with an input form/subform.

The question is - can you somehow specify how many records need to be in subform for each record in main form?
Simply so, that the subform it looks this way:
Výstřižek.PNG
Above this table are fields for date, name, etc. - those stay in main form.
In this table a numeric value (project ID) is filled in for each ten minutes interval. I need to count these values and group by fields from the main form, so I believe they should be kept in a single field. I have no idea how to do this though :lol:

In case my question is not clear enough, just ask me and I will try to explain better ;)
LibreOffice 5.1.2.2
Win10
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Re: Specified count of records in subform

Post by UnklDonald418 »

The solution to your problem lies in a SQL Query. You might be able to create your Query using the Query Wizard or in the Query Design View. SQL does have COUNT and GROUP functions. If you are actually going to use Base you need to learn SQL.
This is a link to a fairly comprehensive tutorial on Base.
https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ima ... torial.pdf
Chapter 9 is where he discusses Queries, but I would recommend you read the entire tutorial if you want a good foundation in database design and SQL.
If you upload a small sample of your database here someone might be able to provide you with a more specific answer.