[Solved] Adding Listbox to Form - Where is the wizard?

Creating and using forms
RhinoCan

[Solved] Adding Listbox to Form - Where is the wizard?

Post by RhinoCan »

I'm new to Base but I've developed in various languages for many years so I'm not new to developing.

I'm trying to create a list box on a form in Base. After trying to puzzle the technique out on my own for a while, I tried using the Help and found the topic on Form Controls. That topic assures me that if I click on a list box over on the left and draw it on the form, the List Box Wizard will appear to help me construct the list box and populate it. When I created the list box though, no wizard began. This video I found on YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDQYvc3VYVw - also assures me that the List Box wizard will appear when I use the technique it describes. The video is only a few months old and is presumably for the current version of Base, 4.1.2, which is what I'm using.

What am I doing wrong? How do I make the wizard appear?

Most programs give you multiple ways to do the same thing and Open Office doesn't seem to be an exception. I right-clicked on the list box that I created and looked at the tabs. I thought perhaps I could define my list box contents there but no dice. I have a simple lookup table and I wanted to define the list box as the contents of one of the columns of that two-column table. I chose a list type of SQL (native) and wrote: select agency_code from agency. I've been using SQL for over 30 years and I know that is valid SQL but the error message says "table not found in statement [select agency_code from agency]". I *think* this is saying that Base can't find a table named agency in Base, which is nonsense because that table is present and populated. Or is it saying it doesn't understand which part of this trivial SQL statement is the table name??